About Us


Faith Formation

Get Involved

How Do I?


Academy of Our Lady

7-1 Glossary



SACRED SCRIPTURE: Means "Sacred Writings". In the Christian faith our sacred writings are contained in the Bible.  

GOSPEL: Translated means "Good News". A gospel can be either oral or written and typically announces a positive event of public importance. Therefore, the Gospel of Jesus Christ is announcing the importance of His life to all of us. 

HEBREW SCRIPTURES: The sacred writings for both the Jewish and Christian faiths. It is split into three sections: the Torah, the Prophets and  the Writings. The Hebrew Scriptures form the Covenant between God and the Jewish People.   

CHRISTIAN SCRIPTURES: Also known as the New Testament, it is the name given to the second major division of the Christian Bible. It begins with the Gospel of Jesus Christ and includes the Acts of The Apostles, letters written to various Christian communities and individuals and the Book of Revelation.   

PENTATEUCH: The first five books in the Hebrew Scriptures: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy. When first found, all five of these books were found on one scroll. In the Jewish faith, These five books still remain on the same scroll and is known as the Torah.   

PROPHETS: A person who speaks by divine inspiration or as the interpreter through whom the will of God is expressed. The Prophets of the Bible are categorized as Major Prophets and Minor Prophets.  

SALVATION HISTORY: Refers to the history of salvation of human beings which cuts through the Hebrew and Christian Scriptures. There are eight stages in Salvation History; five in the Hebrew Scriptures and three in the Christian Scriptures. This history begins with the fall of Adam & Eve.